3

So I just noticed in my reputation change listing the following item: "-10
User was removed".

What does this indicate? Is the idea that there was a user who upvoted an answer of mine but who has since had his account deleted?

4
  • I've no idea! That's wild :)
    – Joseph Weissman Mod
    Mar 29 '13 at 3:27
  • Ask on meta.SO or any popular SE chat. I just tried to join the admin/mod chat to ask but some auth issues prevented me from logging in... Sorry!
    – stoicfury
    Mar 29 '13 at 4:15
  • No worries, it's just a curiosity. I'll ask over at meta.SO.
    – Dennis
    Mar 29 '13 at 4:18
  • At least one user in the meta.SO chat says it's because a user upvoted one of my answers and later had his account deleted. I'm content, mystery solved.
    – Dennis
    Mar 29 '13 at 4:32
6

You're exactly right. When an account is deleted, all of that account's upvotes and downvoted are deleted as well.

A good thread about this, and some of its ups and downs, can be found at Don't throw away all votes when a user is deleted.

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .